Help with Cleaning Approach

Hello,

I have been brewing for over ten years and have always used dishwashing soap to clean my equipment. At the end of the brew day I take my boil kettle & mash tun down to the kurb, foam up some dishwashing liquid and scrub away.

I have read recently that this might not be the best way and using an OXY cleaner or PBW is better.

Any input on this issue?

It seems strange to fill up my 15 gallon boil kettle and 12 gallon mash tun and let sit for 30+ minutes. A lot of water and time when I am ready to finish up.

Is there a quicker way to use these “soak” type cleaners? Or should I just look for a non-scented dishwashing liquid!

Thanks

I don’t think these two pieces of equipment need any kind of soap. My mash tun just gets sprayed out with an RV hose and wiped clean with a rag. I do the same with my boil pot, except if there is a film on the bottom of the pot I will put about half inch of water in with PBW to clean it off. The only thing I soak is fermenters and kegs.

Thanks for your reply. I always scrub off hot break that dries from the boil kettle, so I would not feel comfortable just rinsing it.

I prefer to clean anything that touches the wort including hoses, stir stick etc…

I’ve used both so far and the PBW does work great but so does my dawn with bleach alt.

I just use hot water, a plastic scrubbie and elbow grease to clean my boiler and MT.

[quote=“Bassman”]Thanks for your reply. I always scrub off hot break that dries from the boil kettle, so I would not feel comfortable just rinsing it.

I prefer to clean anything that touches the wort including hoses, stir stick etc…[/quote]

There’s certainly no harm in doing that, but I predict that a hundred batches or so down the road you’ll change your approach…