Help with a step mash?

So im fairly new to AG and ive been trying to stick to one style until i get a result im happy about (no luck yet). Ive ordered the stuff to follow this recipe: viewtopic.php?t=40751

Equipment wise i have a 15 and 8 gallon kettle, a false bottom for the 15 gallon, and a 10 gallon cooler coverted for batch sparging.

This time around i want to be able to do temperature rests and mash on the kettle over direct heat. Ill use the cooler as an HLT. Ive only ever mashed in a cooler so its a bit daunting. Is a pump for recirculating required? How do i compensate for the amount of dead space under the false bottom and still maintain mash thickness? Should i wrap my kettle in insulation while fire is off?

Since this is my first time mashing in a kettle, how should i handle sparging/infusions? Should i use infusions to meet rest temps, or direct heat?

Sorry for the load questions, mashing in a cooler with just sacc rest has spoiled me.

Why don’t you make it easy on yourself and stick with a cooler ala www.dennybrew.com.

No step mashes, no mash out, simple batch sparge.

Do you want to brew beer or complicate a process?

I have done dozens and dozens of step mashes and i have yet to convince myself I made better beer by doing it. Yeah, that’s not the question you asked.

You can do multi-step infusion mashes. BeerSmith will calculate the strike temps for you. They have a three-week free trial. Or, you can use boiling water to raise the temperatures to your mash steps. Once the mash is complete, drain the mash tun, measure the volume you’ve collected and sparge with enough 170 F water to collect the volume you want or to hit your target OG.