Help Stepping Up to AG

Hello Everyone,

I am a long time reader and first time poster who is looking to step up to AG Batch Sparge Brewing. I’d like to make NB’s Hope & King Pro Series 5 Gallon Kit as my first batch and have (more than) a few questions. My hope is that some of you will be good enough to leave some comments on the process I’ve concocted, which I’ve mapped out as follows:

My Calculations:

Recipe Grains = 12.0625 (I just added everything up in the recipe)

Strike Water = 3.75 gallons (1.24qt/lb x 12.0625 lbs = 15 quarts/4 = 3.75 gallons)

Process (gratefully adapted from DennyBrew.com):

1. Mash in, shooting for & adjusting to 151 degrees for 60 minutes (per the recipe)

2. Since this is my first time brewing AG, I do not know my grain absorption rate. If I lose a gallon or so per 10lbs of grain, that would put me at around 2.75 gallons of runoff, which would put me a little under my desired 3.25 gallons from my first runnings, if I am aiming for a pre-boil volume of 6.5 gallons.

Should I add an additional .75 - 1 gallon of water at the end of the mash, stirring and adjusting the temperature of the infusion water to bring the overall temp to 168 or so? Would doing so yield approx. the 3.25 gallons of first runnings I’m looking for?

1. Recirculate

2. Once clear, drain to kettle

3. Drain quickly & completely

4. Heat 3.5 gallons of sparge water to appropriate temperature to raise grain bed to 168

5. Add sparge water, stirring thoroughly

6. Recirculate and drain once again

7. Proceed as usual with boil, etc.

Thanks and sorry for such a long post!