Help RE: lagers

Hello all,
I am new to making lagers, so I have no idea how to work with lagers. I wanted to know when I make a lager starter do I allow it to ferment in room temp or do i have to keep it in the fridge to maintain the recommended temperature. Also I plan to make NB Bavarian Helles OG 1049 using Saflager W-34/70 Lager Yeast. Is this a type of yeast I can just rehydrate and dump it in, if not how big of a starter do i need to make? I do have a dedicated fridge for the 2 stage cold fermentation and for lagering. All advice is appreciated and will be taken into consideration.

With a dry yeast like 34/70, you don’t need to make a starter. If you were making a starter, it’s always better to ferment it at room temp. You’re growing yest, not making beer, and yeast grows better at room temp.

making a starter with a fresh pack of dry yeast is kind of missing the point.

If you are worrying about underpitching just pitch another pack of yeast.

For a 1.049 lager, you really ought to pitch two (rehydrated) packs.

http://www.brew-wineforum.com/shwmessage.aspx?ForumID=8&MessageID=59851

A writeup by someone that has brewed a lot of lagers.

I did the Helles with 34/70 and just rehydrated and pitched.
Remember that before fermentation is complete, you’ll want to take a sample to detect diacetyl, which tastes buttery, or like butterscotch. If you detect it, bring the lager up to 65*F for a few days to let the yeast get rid of it. When you’re done with the diacetyl rest, or D-rest, drop the temp down to lagering temp. Some people say to drop the temp quickly or gradually. I’ve not done any experiments regarding this procedure but I dropped my Helles quickly and it came out tasting good. It was also my first lager so I attribute any off flavors, lack of head, and low carbonation to my own inexperience. Good luck. The Helles is a good lager kit.

Cheers