Help a two-time failed brewer

Hi everyone:

I’m new to brewing, started off with extract kits for caribou slobber and rye stout, and ended up with barely drinkable results after both attempts. I’m about to embark on a third try–AK47 pale mild extract–but it’s hard to get motivated since I worry about what will end up in my glass.

Both misfires had the same off flavor: looking at NB’s list, I’d describe it as Acetaldehyde (green apple) or maybe sourness, a tad metallic. I’ve been hardcore about the star-san during all stages, so I’m not sure what else there is to do as far as sanitizing.

I’m looking at a couple possible causes I see listed:

1.) Poor aeration. I use the “jostle the plastic bucket” method as seen on the NB dvd. Do other people use this method? Has it ever caused problems? Was my jostling insufficient? Should I do something else?

2.) Fermentation time. In both failures, I didn’t check the gravity at all. Bubbling had pretty much stopped, krausen had fallen, and the recommended two weeks had passed. Would premature bottling cause my funky flavors?

Let me know if anyone has ideas. I raise my glass of weird-tasting rye stout to you!

-Evan

1. The bucket needs to be shaken really well before adding the yeat. Jostling isnt enough. Lots of oxygen will be needed.

2. You need to start checking gravity. Its the only way to know for sure.

3. Green apple can mean youre drinking a young beer. Start leaving the beer on the yeast untill your gravity is constant. A good rule of thumb is to leave the beer in primary for two weeks before checking. Then check a few days later. If its the same, your ready for secondary(you can also just leave the beer in primary on top of the yeast and call it secondary) I prefer this. It makes me feel confident the yeast have had time to clean up off flavors such as diacteyl which tastes like butter.

Most problems are sanitation, or time. You said youre good on sanitation so start giving your beer all the time it needs.