Hello

Hi everyone, this is my first time joining a brewing forum, mostly I just lurk in the background :wink: Thought I’d better say hello!

I love ales first and foremost, but have been known to quaff a lager or two. I’ve been brewing for nearly 3 years, my first ever brew was a Coopers extract kit, didn’t go well. I decided then and there to go straight to all-grain and haven’t looked back.

I live in Australia, the town I live in caters only to extract brewers so I took matters into my own hands and built a HERMS rig (pics attached). Took me probably 8 months to put it together and I’ve just recently finished it, so far used it 3 times. For the first 2 years I had a homemade esky (cooler) type setup and made some nice beer, but wanted to take it a bit further.

My first 2 brews on the HERMS were a bit low on efficiency, approx 55%, however I’ve sorted the issues with my equipment setup (beersmith) and hit 91% on my 3rd brew. Obviously there’s still some fine tuning but I reckon it’s good fun from here on in.

Have blacked out the commercial brewery names on my kegs as I don’t wish to give publicity to such mediocrity :wink:

Anyway looking forward to learning as much as I can and chatting with fellow brewers/beer lovers, it’s my understanding that the American Craft Brew scene is the place to be :smiley:

Welcome!
Nice clean looking polish job on the kegs BTW.
:cheers:

Hello from across the pond!
What a nice looking electro-brewery!
Were you able to source alot of the parts locally, is there equipment suppliers down there to get that neat stuff?
Or did you have to search up and get everything shipped in?
Looks like it will brew for a lifetime. Nice!

Cheers guys.

In regards to the equipment most of it came from out of town, I think I purchased the copper heat exchange, RHS, mini-coro, timber top and kegs locally.