Hello from San Francisco

I am totally new to brewing beer, but very excited to start. I have done a lot of research and procured what I believe to be all the equipment necessary to do an all grain brew. I realize that some of the first advice is going to be to start with extract, but I want start out by doing as much of the process as necessary from the start. I also realize this creates a higher likelihood of a batch or several coming out less than perfect, and am willing to accept this. I have been reading “How To Brew” and am about half way through it, as well as watching many many youtube videos.

My first batch is planned to be a California Common with the Uncommon Common recipe from here:

http://byo.com/hops/item/2123-califo…-style-profile

and eliminating the Munich, Victory and pale chocolate malts to get it closer to an Anchor Steam.

I am planning on starting some Hard Cider and Apple Wine at the same time.

I will post details about my setup once I get home tonight, the brewing will all be done in my garage which has several nice cool closets that stay at a pretty consistent temperature.

Once I have a little time this evening I will post pictures of my setup as well as my whole plan for brewing, in hopes of avoiding a few mistakes.

Thanks in advance, I am happy to be here.

Welcome to the forum and your new obsession! I only brewed a few extract batches before I decided to brew AG. People will disagree but I don’t really think I learned anything by doing extract other than the actual processes of brewing. I think you can learn those just as easily doing AG. You seem to have embraced the idea that there’s some risk there so yea go for it and have fun!

I liked the way extract brewing let me learn and refine each brewing skill one at at a time, in order. Maybe not the most logical order, but in some order. People like me benefit from doing extract batches first; tasting success, literally, before moving on to AG.