Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Green beer but it's not St. Patrick's day

I’m a newbie. I just finished my second all grain batch. This batch is called Murphys beers . If it could go wrong it did. I boiled water to chill in the freezer but realized that the container was too large. I sanitized a different container to make it fit. While adding grains to muslin sack, it spilled all over the counter. I kept forgetting to take needs outside so I was constantly going in and out…hops, Irish moss, yeast nutrients, etc. When I was nearing the end of the boil, I hydrated the yeast. When I reached for plastic to cover the vessel I spilled the yeast. My wife helped me salvage the remaining yeast and I added some extra yeast from a previous batch. The boil finished and I brought the wort inside to cool. I used an ice bath in the sink. The temperature got down to 120 and stopped cooling. I removed the lid and stirred, added more ice but it wouldn’t go below 115. Then I realized the thermometer was stuck (electronic). By this time the wort was actually down to 65. I pitched the yeast anyway. Six hours later I had bubbles…a lot of action. The wort is very hazy. This morning (12 hours) I notice that the yeast has settled but wort is still hazy and the foam on top is green. It looks like hops but the dry hops are in a muslin sack. What should I do…toss it or let it ride out the next 2 weeks?

It sounds like you had a somewhat hectic and unorganized brew day but nothing you mention makes me think you won’t get beer. Quite likely decent beer or at least close to what the original recipe intended as long as your sanitation was good.

You pitched at pretty much the perfect temp. I usually pitch ales around 61-63 when I can.

The wort is hazy because your yeast are having a big party in it. Eating and procreating and making beer.