Gravity question

To preface I am a complete beginner to this process and I got the Block Party Amber Ale. I followed the directions as best I could but when I went to take my original gravity I am pretty sure it was reading around 1068! Not sure if I did something wrong or what. Anyone else have a similar experience?

That could be right. What about. The orginal. Grav. Acourding. Your recipy. What did you use. Refractometer. Or hydrometer. If you think its to high the grav. You can. Add some water. To bring. Gravity down. Did you calibrate. Your. Refracto or hydro meter.

target was supposed to be 1043 I think. I donā€™t think I calibrated it. I didnā€™t see calibration on the instructions of the hydrometer. I will have to check that out

Welcome to the hobby and to the forum! Was it an extract kit? How did your volumes end up?

1 Like

Oeps that a bit of. Calibrate. Your. Meter with water. Should read. 1000. Than take a sample. Of your beer. See what it says. If still high. You can delute with some. Boiled. Cold water. Brewers friend. Got some. Formula. To adjust. Gravity. Or you can leave it. Redo the final gravity. Calculation. As well did you end up with the right. Target volume. For your wort. If volume to less. You end up with high og gravity. But any way. Its fun to brew beer. Welcome to the new. Brew beer adiction

target

Yes it was an extract kit. The instructions said to start with 2.5 gallons for the boil then once the boil is done cool the wort off then move it to the fermentor with some cool water and fill up with cool water up to 5 gallons. After I did that I took the sample of the wort and I was getting around 1068. So I went ahead and pitched the yeast and put it in my closet for fermentation.

I just took a sample with water and checked that it came to 1000. Maybe user error somewhere on my initial gravity reading.