Generic "Getting Into Wine" Post

Hello Everyone,

I’ve been brewing beer for a few years now and lately my wife has been hinting that it would be nice to have some wine around the house, as well. This being the case, I was wondering if anyone would mind answering some 101 level questions I have about getting into the wine-making end of my brewing hobby:

1. Just how good are the boxed wine kits out there? Allow me frame my question this way: My wife and I are both casual, novice wine drinkers and usually come home from the liquor store with a ~$15 bottle of something or other, maybe $30 for a holiday celebration. I’ve noticed that the higher-end wine kits sell for ~$160, which at 30 bottles per kit would put our return at ~$5 per bottle. Generally speaking, can I expect to make a ”15 bottle of wine” for $5 with one of these kits?

2. How does water chemistry play into making extract/concentrate wine kits? As an AG brewer I’ve come to build recipe-specific profiles from RO water using Bru’n Water – is there an equivalent program for wine water or should the same precautions be taken? Would using all RO water be OK for these kits?

3. Is there a recognized, one-stop, “How to Brew” equivalent out there online or in print for wine making?

4. Is there a partial-mash equivalent for wine making, or does one go straight from making extract kits to crushing their own grapes?

5. Are there any other big concerns in play for a home brewer looking at getting into wine?

On the whole, wine making should actually be easier for you to get into than beer was. There will be a little extra processing work on the back end, and time frame is much longer, but if you use kit wines it will be very easy.

#1 - don’t go cheep on the kit, it makes a huge difference.

#2 - Whites translate much better than reds as compaired to commercial wines.

#3 - aging good reds makes a huge diference.