Garage Lagering?

I’m looking for some tried and true advice about lagering in my detached garage.

I live in Milwaukee, WI and as I look at average temperature ranges, it seems that I can lager in late March and early April.

Lager season?

I’m intending to do a dunkel

http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/bava ... t-kit.html

then and I’m looking for some advice about no-cost or almost no-cost ways to maintain a steady lagering temp.

A few ideas I’ve read about in the forum are:

• putting carboy in a larger tub of water to act as a temp change buffer
  • using frozen water bottles to keep temps down as need be
  • using blankets to keep temps steady

Any other sage advice?
Any advice about the above ideas?

Anyone want to tell me I’m crazy and this won’t work?

I don’t really know what I’m doing as I’m new to this…

Any advice about lagering in general is welcome – mostly I’m looking for ideas around temp control in an early springtime WI garage.

Thanks!

If it’s crazy, then I’m crazy…I’ve got one pils lagering, another fermenting and I’m about to brew a bock under the same conditions. I’ve been doing it for years with good to great results. We have fairly moderate winters with highs 45-55 and lows 30-45 usually. I put the fermenter in a tu of water and put aquarium heater in the water. I hook the heater to a timer and set it to come on during the coldest parts of the night. With a little tweaking I can maintain a fairly consistent lager fermentation temp.

I live in New Berlin, so I deal with the same weather. I will tell you this. I’m fermenting a munich helles right now in my garage. I use a johnson temp controller attached to a ferm wrap, and put the whole thing in a big styrofoam box. I’m trying to keep it at 50°F. Remember that 60°F day we had a couple weeks ago? My ferm temp got up to almost 55°F for a day and a half.