Furious Pro with 1028 London Ale yeast

I had some washed/saved 1028 London Ale yeast that I wanted to reuse for an IPA, so I called the NB MPLS store asking for recommendations. They said this yeast was the recommended one for the Surly Furious kit.

I saw today online that this is NOT the recommended yeast from Northern Brewer nor is it the strain that Surly actually uses.

How interchangeable are these British Yeast strains? I know I’ll be at least a little off since I didn’t use the recommended yeast, but how off will I be? I am still learning about yeast so I’m not sure if this is even a big deal. I just really want this thing to taste amazing!

Thank you for any advice.

This is from NB’s Furious Extract Kit page:

“A note on yeast: Surly uses White Labs WLP007 Dry English Ale; with Surly’s blessing, we have included Wyeast 1335 as the default option so customers (especially mail order customers) can more easily evaluate viability before brewing.”

[quote=“leaderbean”]This is from NB’s Furious Extract Kit page:

“A note on yeast: Surly uses White Labs WLP007 Dry English Ale; with Surly’s blessing, we have included Wyeast 1335 as the default option so customers (especially mail order customers) can more easily evaluate viability before brewing.”[/quote]

WY1028 is the equivelent of WLP013, not WLP007

Here are the flavor profiles for both WY1028 and WLP007

[quote=“White Labs”]WLP007
Clean, highly flocculent, and highly attenuative yeast. This yeast is similar to WLP002 in flavor profile, but is 10% more attenuative. This eliminates the residual sweetness, and makes the yeast well suited for high gravity ales. It is also reaches terminal gravity quickly. 80% attenuation will be reached even with 10% ABV beers. [/quote]

[quote=“Wyeast”]WY1028
A rich, minerally profile that is bold and crisp with some fruitiness. Often used for higher gravity ales and when a high level of attenuation is desired.
[/quote]