Full boil extract(too much water?)

I’m still very new to brewing. I have my first batch of Irish red sitting in my primary going on day 16 now and plan to take a reading this Friday before bottling it up.

When I purchased all of my original equipment I did it so that I could eventually start all grain brewing. With that is a 10 gallon megapot with valve and and edle propane burner so I will have no problem achieving a full boil. I do have a few questions however. I have been reading about calculating the amount of water to start a full extract boil and was wondering if I accidentally end up with a half gallon or gallon extra if it will affect the OG. The next kit I have and want to try it on is a Belgian wheat with DME.

Second question is when do I add the wort chiller to the boil? I’m assuming for sanitary reasons I want to add it about 50 minutes into the boil and like the boil kill any potential nasties on it?

Final question, if I am using the valve on my pot, should I spray it with SAN star solution thoroughly before I open the valve and let the wort flow into my carboy? The megapot comes with an angled attachment inside of the pot thatbisnsuppose to point towards the. Ottom but I was planning on reversing the direction to leave the settlement in the pot.

Thanks in advance!
Grantmesteven

You can fill the kettle with 5 gallons of water and boil for 60 minutes to calculate your boil off rate. Measure how much water is left after the boil. This will give you an accurate measure for the rate of the boil and weather conditions on that day. Weather does affect boil off a little. Then you can calculate how much liquid volume the LME will add if it is used.

I would be to lazy to do that and it would waste water unless it was recovered for another use. I would just start a 5 gallon brew with 5 gallons of water in the kettle. Record the volume of LME used and record how much top off water was needed to bring the fermentor up to the 5 gallon mark.