Frustration- help finding the source of it all

Allright, just to be clear, I am new to brewing within the last year (11 extract batches). Ive had some great batches and some which I really enjoyed but lately I keep running into the same issue. I’ve been sticking to kits from NB like the IrishBlonde, Carribou Slobber, Chinook IPA, Smashing Pumpking Ale, and Kolsch. Of all 11 beers in which I made, three of the kits have completed with a very odd, hard to explain taste. At this point, I do not know what to rule out. I’ve read Palmers (how to brew) front to back, side to side, and upside down in Hindu and am still having trouble locating my mistakes? Either way, here’s the scoop:

Equipment:

5 gallon steel stock pot on propane burner (boil 2.5 gallons as directed by NB)
Plastic mash spoon
I use spring water from bottle
3-piece airlock, autosiphon, bottle bocket, etc.

Sanitize with Star San (always)
Usually clean with either Dish soap or OxyClean.
-If nothing is seen gunked up, then I give it a quick wipe with a cloth rag and sanitize.

Fermentation:
I use still use Ale Pales as both Primary and Secondary. My LHBS recommended sticking to pales for cost, convenience in cleaning, and storage. I also constructed the “Son of Fermentation Chamber” with modifications - great results as far as temp. control. My last batch (Kolsch - bottled last night) was the first in the son of fermentation chamber.

THE PROBLEM: