Forbidden Fruit Wyeast 3463

Has anyone had extensive experience with this strain? If so what are your thoughts?

I am using it (potentially) for my second Spring wit. I did my first Spring wit using the Belgian Wit strain (3944) and fermented cool (62* degrees F) and then let it free rise after 10 days at 62*. Right now it is hovering around 68 and should finish up in the next week or so.

With this next wit I plan on going with a little (2oz) of lime zest, and I am really trying for a tart, crisp beer with a dry finish. If I ferment starting at 63* (lowest temp according to the manufacture), let it go for 10 days then free rise to the fermentation is complete would this miss the mark on the ester/phenol production usually captured in a wit?

I have no experience with this strain and would love to hear what feedback you all have.

:cheers:

Well, I went to my LHBS and they did not have any WYeast 3463 in stock. They said there hasn’t been too much interest in it to carry it. I was bummed at first, but when I looked at their substitute chart, it stated that the Wine, Mead and Sake Yeast (Wyeast 4184) was the substitute. I was like :shock: when I saw that and I almost pulled the trigger to see how that strain would ferment out a Witbier. In the end at the check out line, I chickened out and went with the 3944 Wit strain and will probably ferment a little warmer (around the 68-69*) range to get more of a funky profile.

If anybody used this strain (Forbidden Fruit) before, please chime in, I’d love to hear how it worked out.

I’ve used both in wits and prefer Forbidden Fruit. It’s less tangy, but nice and fruity and goes well with the citrus notes of the coriander. The Witbier yeast was fine, but it stalled out on me at 1029. Warming it up to 75 got it to finish, but I read a lot of other people saying it’s prone to stalling like that. It is a little more tart than Forbidden Fruit