First Time Worries

Hey everyone,

I’m totally new to brewing. I mean, I bought a Mr. Beer kit a little over a year ago, but I wouldn’t consider that “brewing”.

Anyway, brewed up a batch of Irish Red Ale using the Deluxe Starter kit on Sunday (March 3rd). My fiancé and I moved the beer to the first carboy and stashed it in a closet. Yesterday, everything seemed to be going well, tan foam on top, bubbles coming out of the plug. But today, (March 5th) the foam has gone away and the bubbles have stopped.

My worry is that we activated the yeast too early before putting it into the wort. We put it in a small bowl of water about a half hour before dumping it in the carboy because the pack said that we should do that (my fiancé’s words, not mine).

Should we go ahead and move the beer to secondary fermentation or pitch it because the yeast has been messed up? Any help is appreciated. Cheers!

I’m newer to brewing, but I just brewed this beer awhile back. I only had a day or two or real active fermentation, it was around a week and a half before the gravity readings really stabilized (indicating primary fermentation was complete)

You don’t have to see signs of active fermentation for it to be fermenting. Most likely the yeast burned through most of the fermentables quickly and are working on what’s left.

Did you measure the original gravity prior to fermentation? You can tell when fermentation is complete once the gravity readings have stabilized.

That being said…the short answer is “You’re Fine”

If you measured the OG wait until the readings have stabilized before moving to secondary, otherwise give it a full two weeks in primary to be sure its done what it’s needed to do.

We did not measure the gravity readings beforehand, but we’ll be sure to check them ASAP. Thank you for the advice. Gotta admit, when I read, “You’re fine” I think I started breathing again.