First time new recipe questions

So, i just got into homebrewing this summer and am about to bottle my third batch. i went from curious to obsessive pretty damn fast. so far, my first three batches have been cream ale, chinook IPA and the irish red ale. all pretty basic for the most part.

I know that I am by no means an expert but i really want to create something that is my own through and through. I was wondering if you all can give me some tips about creating your own recipe. is there a resource to find which types of malt goes well with Hops X, Y and Z or is it mostly trial and error? i am thinking that i would probably try to make some sort of a pale or india pale ale for my first attempt.

any and all feedback is greatly appreciated. thank you. cheers!

[quote=“mcdillon27”]So, i just got into homebrewing this summer and am about to bottle my third batch. i went from curious to obsessive pretty damn fast. so far, my first three batches have been cream ale, chinook IPA and the irish red ale. all pretty basic for the most part.

I know that I am by no means an expert but i really want to create something that is my own through and through. I was wondering if you all can give me some tips about creating your own recipe. is there a resource to find which types of malt goes well with Hops X, Y and Z or is it mostly trial and error? i am thinking that i would probably try to make some sort of a pale or india pale ale for my first attempt.

any and all feedback is greatly appreciated. thank you. cheers![/quote]

Not sure i should be giving advice becuase only finished 1 batch but i also went from curious to obsessive. Im way more interested in recipe design than followign kits. I like to look at recipes from Nb and others, recipes that people like and see how they design them then just put your own spin on them. Substitute a hop substitute a grain… Also beer smith is pretty handy.