First time brewer! "Brewing for dummies"

Hello all, my wife is awesome and got me the caribou slobber 1 gallon brew kit for Christmas. Brew day went well, pretty straight forward. I’ve had my fermentation going about 5 days and it seems to have died down. (Very little bubbling, foam has dropped back down.) So I guess I’m looking for some insight into when exactly I bottle. My 1 sheet vague instructions leave a lot of information out. Like I said this is my first time. I have no instruments for spec grav measurements etc… another question I have is, will leaving the fermenter out at room temp ruin the beer. What about light sensitivity? I’ve been scrolling through some threads but you all seem to be pretty experienced. Just looking for some basic brewing info for a beginner. Thanks! I’m sure this stuff gets asked all the time so I appreciate the feed back.

Hey, welcome! Room temp is fine, once active fermentation is done, temperature isn’t so important. Keep light away, it can cause skunkiness from the hops. Keep it in a dark room, or keep it covered with something. Lastly, best to wait 3 weeks to bottle, assuming you don’t have a hydrometer. Probably done at 1-2 weeks, but unless you can measure the specific gravity, you don’t want to take the risk of bottling too soon. Good luck!

Thanks! Good to know that waiting won’t affect my beer. I’ve got it in a closet. Nice and dark. So better to wait then to bottle too soon. Let the yeast do their thing. Got it. I was thinkin I would pick up a hydrometer from the local brew shop this week. Basically when spec grav shows no change the fermentation is complete?

Yep! Same measurement 3 or 4 days apart, you’re good to bottle. But with a 1 gallon batch, don’t worry about it. Just give it the 3 weeks and call it good. Wastes too much need to take the hydro sample.