First time brew questions

So I got a Deluxe Kit from my in-laws and started my first batch of Irish Red Ale this past Wednesday. I’m brand new at this and have a couple of questions.

1. After pouring the wort into the primary fermentor, it says to aerate the wort by swirling the carboy around for a few minutes. Doesn’t this defeat the purpose of trying to keep out airborn infections?

2. After pitching the yeast, I got fermentation pretty much right away. After a day, I needed to implement a blow-off system. After two to three days I had little-to-no krausen and minimal bubbles coming from the blowoff container. Does that sound reasonable? Could I have gone to the secondary fermentation stage after 3 days of primary?

3. I’ve read that some people don’t like to use secondary fermentation with the Irish Red Ale. However, I plan to do it for some practice. Can you taste test a sample in between primary and secondary fermentation to get a feel for the flavor?

4. How long should I let the wort stand in secondary fermentation? It says 2-4 weeks but I’m thinking 2 weeks tops since primary only seemed to last a couple of days. Suggestions?

Just an FYI, I initially cooled the wort to 100 degrees before pouring into the primary fermentation carboy. I pitched the yeast at around 70 degrees. The wort’s temp went from a high of 72 during initial fermentation but is now sitting around 65. Also, any tips and tricks would be greatly appreciated!

I’m new at this myself and this is my first post but I think I can answer your first question: Sanitize some aluminum foil and use it to cover the carboy mouth once you pour in your water and wort. Then you can hold it around the neck while you rock it for aeration. Worked great for me.

Also - there is no “secondary fermentation”. I’ve read a lot over the last couple months and secondaary fermentation is really just a term for the additional aging period.