First Post + Whitbier Question

Hey everyone, my name is Jim and I’m located in West Michigan. I just finished moving the wife and kiddo back to MI from CO as we are expecting another daughter in August!

I’ve been brewing for about 6 months. I did an extract Pale in the Fall, and a partial mash Stout over Christmas. both turned out great and now I’m hooked.

I just ordered my first real burner off of Amazon.com to get better control of my temps and am considering jumping to a 7 or 8 gallon kettle soon to get away from doing a concentrated wort boil then diluting it.

So enough about me, time for questions.

I’m getting ready to brew another extract kit i received for Christmas. It’s a Whitbier kit. I’m pretty excited about this one as it should make for a great summer drinking beer. I’m even thinking of bottling some of it in PET bottles so I can take them to the beach when it gets nicer out!

My question is, what can I do extra, to make this “kit” really pop? I have heard of people adding lemon or orange zest in the fermentation process. Would anyone suggest doing this? Or perhaps Coriander? I have also heard mixed results with the later idea. As for my taste, I’m a hoppy beer guy. I love my IPA’s. I “grew” (in beer terms) going to Western Michigan University, 2 miles from Bells. So I’m not too picky about beers that aren’t that style. Basically I’m open to ideas. If this were an IPA I’d be digging and digging for the perfect mix of additives and recipes and so on.

So any ideas are welcome! I’m open to trying new things with this kit. I’ll be checking back to this thread throughout the week, so hopefully people help out hahahaha