First keg kit questions

Hey everyone,
So, i’m very new to home brewing, but I have already noticed that it really seems like kegging is a pretty smart way to go, but I have a couple questions. Right now I am thinking of just getting one of the basic 5 gallong corny keg w/picnic tap kits, and keeping it in a mini-fridge. Now comes the new guy questions…

Filtration? Is it necessary, or just a nice luxury to have? I mean if I have unfiltered beer on tap, will I need to worry about sediment getting drawn from the keg into the glasses, or will it all just sink to the bottom of the keg and stay there?

Would a beer gun be a good initial investment for when I do want to bottle, or would it be better just to bottle condition part of a batch before it goes into the keg?

I’d also really appreciate any general suggestions for someone just looking to get into the world of kegging…

Thanks!

In my opinion filtration is completely unnecessary. There are all kinds of fining agents you can use (I don’t use any and still get pretty clear beer). But the thing with kegging is once the beer sits in the keg, in a fridge for a little while, the cold will help drop out most of what is floating around. The first 1/2 glass or so of the first 2 or 3 pours may have some yeast and other stuff in it, but that’s it. Just dump the first few ounces and your good. And you don’t have to do it through the entire keg, just the first few pours.

For me, clear beer is just not that important. It’s nice, but not earth shattering if it’s not. I’m much more concerned with the taste.