First is fine - second is foam

I am brand new to kegging, just a couple of weekends ago I kegged my first batch. Everything went pretty well. After racking to the cleaned keg, I cold crashed the beer in the keg to about 38 degrees, and once cold and after venting the oxygen out then did the shaking the keg trick to get it carbonated quickly. I used about 20 psi to force carbonate/shake, and then I left it at a steady 11 psi.

After about a week though, I’ve found that the first pour comes out very smoothly with a nice head and carbonation. The second pour is almost all foam. Perfect pour to serious foam. And it did not do this at first at all.

I have 5 feet of liquid line between the keg and shank. The fridge remains at about 38 degrees. And I replaced all the o-rings prior to using the keg.

Any ideas out there in brewland?

I think 5 feet of line is too short. Try 10 feet instead…also, how thick is your line? That will affect the foam.

5’ of 3/16" will suffice (EDITED TYPO). You’ll get more foam than usual, but you’ll get foam on all your glasses, including the first. A longer hose is something to try as a first step, though, for sure; alternatively, you could also try an epoxy mixer (search the forums) inside the dip tube for a similar effect.

Shouldn’t the liquid line be 5/16"?

yea, or 3/16 but I don’t think it should be 3/8".

35-38 degrees, 10’ of 3/16 beer line works great for me at 8-10# c02

Switching to 10 feet of tubing is easy enough. I’ll definitely try that out and see if it helps.
Thanks for the help guys.

However, usually it is the other way around. Normally with a kegerator, the first pint has foam as the lines and tap are warm. As the first beer cools them down, the next few are much less foam. At least that is my experience, regardless of line length

typo.

Agreed. The problem doesn’t make sense… seems like it should be something else.