First Brew

I am new to brewing and decided to start with small batch brewing till I get comfortable with the process. I started with the Irish Red Ale and wanted to get some insight from others about what I have noticed so far.

I pitched to the carboy right at 70 degrees (took ~40 minutes to cool) and added 1/2 of the yeast per the kits instructions. I played it safe because I had some uncertainty as to the accuracy of my thermometer. This morning when I checked the carboy there was blow off coming out of the air lock and I immediately put in a air hose w/ solution water on the other end. A fair amount of head and hops blew through immediately but not all. Bubbles were about every 1-2 seconds on average. Once the head stopped coming through the tube I replaced the air lock. I have a few theories as too why fermentation happened quicker than expected. 1) possibly using more than half of the yeast. 2) the temperature of the beer is above 75 due to fermentation.

I have some concerns that the out of control yeast party overnight may lead to some undesirable flavors. Also, the instructions say 1-2 weeks fermentation. If the bubbles and head subside before then should I continue to wait 7 or 14 days to clear?