First Brew Problems

Hi. I am a real novice to this and have a few worries about my first brew. It has been brewed in a grainfather so hopefully temperature hasn’t been an issue. I didn’t use a hydrometer after mashing so not sure of the ABV but now the hydrometer doesn’t show in the bottling area despite the reading remaiang static for a few days.
The beer should be an English Pale Ale but looks to have more of a ruby colour? It is also a bit cloudy. Nothing too bad but still an issue.

I have tasted it and it does taste a bit strong. Should I bottle it?

So your saying, it just sank to the bottom of the bucket? Sneezles61

The hydrometer? No. It floats but the reading is below the yellow bottle now area

OK, so you did sanitize it too? Check in a couple of days… You are trying to verify that its fermentation has, in a sense, stopped… Which it really hasn’t… If you bottle too soon, you could end up with bottle bombs! Be careful… Sneezles61

It has been fermenting for two and a half weeks and the hydrometer reading has been the same for a week. I drew some beer out to test it so shouldn’t be any sanitation issues. This was then thrown away.

1 Like

Always taste your hydrometer samples. Forget about the color coding on the hydrometer scales. Every fermentation is different. The final gravity is determined by the amount of fermentables in the wort and the strain of yeast used. Most often the beer is done fermenting when the specific gravity has been stable for 3 days. With some strains of yeast the beer isn’t done fermenting until the specific gravity has been stable for one to two weeks.

Which yeast did you use and what are the specific gravity readings you recorded?

It was a dried yeast in the kit. The gravity reading has been 1.017 for about a week. I thought if it stayed the same for a few days I should bottle it but it tastes strong and is a bit cloudy