First batch ready to drink

Popped the top on my first homebrew. Was a LME kit. It’s a little darker than should be. Has nice head on it and is drinkable. It seems to have a sweet tang to it. Truth be told I would be pissed if I had bought it from the beverage store. But I made and will drink it.

I did a lot of research after I made it and discovered things I did wrong. The second batch will be better. It’s been in the bottle for one week and already taste better than the first batch.
Gonna try my hand at AG this weekend. I hope it produces a better product.

Fingers crossed.

Taste your first one again in a few weeks and then another a few weeks later. Might just be a little young yet for the flavors to develop.

It’s a Bavarion heffie. Was the only kit my local supply had. This is my first time drinking that style. May taste as it should. My not be bad for the style. I’m not exactly sure what it should taste like.

I like pale ales and Belgian ales . my AG will be a NB Sierra madra pale ale, I’ll be able to judge it a little better.

I have noticed that after 4 or 5 they taste better…

1 Like

Hefeweizens have a taste of their own. If you are not familiar with the style, then you may have a very representative beer and just not recognize it as such. These beers will have banana and clove flavors that are not present in other beers. Maybe pick up a bottle of hefe at a local store and give yourself a chance to compare. Enjoy the hobby.
Jerry

1 Like

[quote=“jdwilliam, post:5, topic:20679”]
Maybe pick up a bottle of hefe at a local store and give yourself a chance to compar
[/quote]yeah, good idea. I’ll pick up a six of it today.

Thanks

Or in case you really do dislike Hefeweizens, pick up a single bottle. Look for Weihenstephaner Hefeweizen as a good benchmark, and it can be bought in singles at a lot of package stores.

2 Likes

I’ll try to find it.