First AG brew, critiques and suggestions?

Hey folks. While I started brewing back in 2003, I’ve been more than happy with extract brews. But after taking a few years off, and selling all my gear, when I decided to start up again I bought a package deal from someone else who was quitting and it included what’s need for AG ~ so I decided “Why not?”

If you’ve got 9 seconds to spare, I was testing out a Raspberry Pi Timelapse build while brewing today (lol, need to adjust the settings when 5 hours = 9 seconds of video):

http://youtu.be/pCBgu0z3fyc

This was my brew today: http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/bava … n-kit.html ~ my wife and I love this brew in extract kit form.

I decided that I’d just make it as difficult as possible for my first time out and did the multi-step process. Ran the numbers through one of the online calculators for volume and temp to hit the rests. This is where I ran into issues… it had me use 12.3 quart at 130* to hit the 122* rest. That was fine, I hit the temp fine but that filled my 7-gallon rubbermaid drink cooler half way. After 20 minutes, the temp was down to 120. I added boiling water till the temp was 149 and rest for 30, temp then had dropped to 144… brought it up to 158 and at that point my cooler was chock full, did the 30 min rest and temp dropped to 155~4. At this point I drained off about a gallon of the wort and brought it to a boil then added it back to the mash… and then repeated once more till I got to 170 and let it rest for 10 minutes.

As I was draining into my boil kettle, I heated the last of the water (the calc said I’d need about 7.2 gallons, what didn’t fit was supposed to bring the temp up for mash-out) to 190-ish and poured it in as the level dropped. I don’t have a sight glass or volume marks on my brew keggle, plus I brew on non-level ground, but I’d have to guess that there was just a bit under 6 gallons of wort.