First AG Batch recipe

So I’m new to AG, in fact VERY new, and plan on brewing my first batch this weekend hopefully. I have some hops left over from previous brews and wanted to utilize them for my first AG. So, I found a few recipes to look at and ended up with this. I’m more worried about the hop schedule being off, but it sounds tasty so far! Does it look like it will turn out ok, or am i just crazy?

8.0 lb 80 % 2-Row (US) Any Mash 37 1 °L
2.0 lb 20 % Crystal 40L Any Mash 34 40 °L

Hops

Amount Hop Time Use Form AA
0.5 oz Centennial (US) 60 min Boil Pellet 10.5%
0.5 oz Centennial (US) 20 min Boil Pellet 10.5%
1.0 oz Amarillo (US) 5 min Boil Pellet 9.3%
1.0 oz Centennial (US) 0 min Whirlpool Pellet 10.5%
1.0 oz Amarillo (US) 5 days Dry Hop Pellet 9.3%
1.0 oz Centennial (US) 5 days Dry Hop Pellet 10.5%

OG

FG

IBU

ABV
5.3%

Color
10 SRM

Balance
0.65 – Bitter

I’d cut back on the crystal and make it 9 lb. pale and 1 lb. crystal.

+1 to what Denny said, that’s far too much crystal. Hops look great!

I dunno if it’s “far” too much, but using less will be a better starting point to decide what he likes for future batches.

Fair enough! :cheers:

I guess I’m just getting less fond of the flavor of crystal malt in pale ales in my old age…

Thanks guys! I had hoped I wasn’t too far off, as I don’t know exactly what I’m doing yet with devising recipes :lol:

I agree with the above. 10-12% C malt is plenty IMO, 15% max.

Your bittering addition seems a bit light for me at .5 oz. For an IPA I usually try to get to 25 IBU or so with my bittering hops. My most recent was 30 IBU from the 60 min addition and that was just slightly too bitter for my taste.

Your .5 at 60 gives you about 19 IBU if you do 9 lb 2 row and 1 lb C40. Just depends on how much bitterness you want up front.

[quote=“dannyboy58”]I agree with the above. 10-12% C malt is plenty IMO, 15% max.