Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Fermented too fast

Hello. I am completely new to brewing and this is my first post here. I apologize if this is a question already addressed but I don’t have a feel for the site yet so I will ask.

I started my first ever batch on Jan 5. I was careful to be very sanitary and follow directions as well as I could. After my wort was complete I added it to mt 6 gallon carboy which had the 2 gallons of sterile water in it. Since the reading I did directed me to make sure to aerate the wort I picked up the carboy (with the stopper on it) and shook it vigorously. I then added the yeast which I followed the instructions to re-hydrate. The pitching temp was probably around 80 degrees and the recommended fermenting temperature is 68 degrees (streets of london porter). I was expecting to have to wait a couple days before I saw any action but to my surprise I saw bubbling in the airlock after only 4 hours. When I got up the next morning (about 15 hours after pitching) the activity was vigorous. The airlock was bubbling like crazy and there was a thick layer of foam on top. The ambient temperature in the room was 68 degrees. I went to work and when I came home that night the activity had dramatically decreased.

Over the past few days the activity continues but very slowly. Maybe 1 bubble every 2 minutes or so. Not much in the way of foam on top, but there is a noticeable layer of sludge on the carboy bottom.

So my questions are, did my high pitching temperature cause the immediate activity? Is the high temp during that activity going to cause off flavors? Should I have aerated so much and would that have caused the immediate activity? Have I completely destroyed my first ever batch?