Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Fermentation temp

hello, this my first time posting a question and happy to be apart of this community. I am relatively new to homebrewing and need some advice, batch #4. I have just brewed the NB Honey Brown and happy to say all is going great however i am concerned about the temp reading on the stick on thermometer. It is reading 74 but the temp inside my home is 70. The instructions state that a range from 62-72 is acceptibile. I made a yeast starter and it is going through a vigorous fermentation as we speak.I also have my blow off tube placed in the carboy. Should i be overly concerned with this temp reading or should i move it to another location during this fermentation process and is it ok to move it. Or calm down and let it play out. Thank you for your advice.

I personally would go by the internal temp in your home. None of the stick-on thermometers on my fermenters is consistent with my home thermistat, or the thermometer in the room in which I ferment. Heck, they (the stick-ons) aren’t even consistent with each other. It sounds like your brew is in the right place at the right temp.

Paul

Active fermentation will generally raise the temperature 1-2 degrees above ambient -sometimes more. I like my fermentation room around 62-64 to keep temps down. I would invest in a better thermometer than a “stick on” type - there are plenty of places in the brewing process where you want an accurate reading.

I’ll have to disagree. I find that my stick on strips are fairly accurate from one to the other.
If your home temp is 70 and the stick on reads 74, it’s more than likely right on. As for a cause for concern, I would move it and let it cool down slowly. I always try to keep the yeast at the lower end of the temp range. You could let it go and see how it turns out and do another at the cooler temp and compare the two. Good luck and I hope it tuns out well!