Fermentation issue

This is my first time brewing. I ordered the Caribou slobber. I was following the instructions and when it came to adding the yeast, I did not have the liquid yeast, but only a small package of dry yeast. Fermentation look like it started. I put the carboy in my basement. That day there was definitely bubbles escaping out of the airlock. In the morning it looked like there were no more bubbles escaping. And this is now day 4 and it doesn’t look like anything is happening to the beer. So I moved it up from the basement and put it in a closet 65°.
Questions was the basement too cold? it’s usually around 50°.
Next question could my Yeast be bad?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Which yeast did you use? Fermentation bucket or carboy? Buckets don’t often seal to well. When fermentation slows, the CO2 could be escaping around the rim. If fermentation was not stalled, because of the cool temperature, having the fermentor in the warmer area will not be a problem.

Quick answers:

1. Yes. 50 is too cold. Most ale yeasts are happy at high 50’s to about 70–best in the lower part of this range. Most folks here try to keep their ales in the low 60’s.

2. Unless your yeast pack was damaged, the yeast was probably good.

What temp was the wort at when you pitched the yeast?

Do you have a hydrometer to check the specific gravity of the wort?

If you had activity at that temp for a short period of time, your fermentation may have stalled. Keep the fermentor in the 65* closet, and maybe gently rouse the yeast (swirl the fermentor gently to get the yeast back into suspension–try not to slosh too much)