Fastpitch

What is the best way to use fastpitch as a starter? Liquid vs. Dry yeast? stir plate vs. Hand swirling? how long to let it sit before pitching?

I used dry yeast in my fastpitch starter, as I didn’t know any better. I only let it sit for 22 hours, and I hand swirled the starter. I wish the instructions were cleared on this. As a new brewer I am still learning all the specifics about brewing, grains, liquid malts, and yeast. When the dead ringer kit calls for the use of a starter, I wish it were more specific about they type of yeast to use and the best way to make the starter. I’m hoping it works out, saw some krausen this morning and it is bubbling through the blowout tube after pitching last night, but I’m worried it will be underpitched now. Should I add another dry pack or wait and see?

1 Like

I would wait. Adding more yeast. If you order a beer kit. At nb. Go to the bottom. You do get the recipy. I do like to make a starter. For all my beers. Got liqued yeast. I do like it beter than the dry yeast. But thats my opinion. You can choose the yeast as well. When you place the order. A starter fun to make. And the stirplate. With a 1 liter flask not so expensive to buy. Just do a calculation. On how much lme to use to create a starter. Let it run for 36 hours or so. Cold crash. And on brewing day take it out of the fridge. You can separate the yeast before you pitch. Toss out the light color. Of your yeast starter

I was never more frustrated with homebrewing than when I first started asking about starters. The frustrating thing is that there are so many different ways of doing starters, so you will get lots of opinions, not all of them consistent, and many of them contradicting each other.

Some people will take 5-7 days to let a starter go, some will get one going, then pitch it the next day when the starter is active. Both camps have some level of success with their methods.