Extreme experimentation

I have been brewing now for almost 3 years. IN the beginning, I was intimidated. I stuck to the rules and did as the book said. I followed instructions and things always seemed to turn out fine. Then I started reading a lot. I read about different ways of brewing, and found what I thought to be contradictions. Decoction, where the grains are boiled into oblivion! I thought, that sounds like a bad thing, but apparently it’s not. I read posts by people who have made mistakes, and the result was that the beer turned out just fine.

That got me to thinking. I am just going to start trying things that seem like should not be tried. ON that note, I will start out by asking if anyone has ever tried the following. I am going to do a BIAB batch where I start out with my grains in the pot with cold water. I will begin to heat the mash and slowly ramp the temperature all the way up to a boil. Then I will remove the grain sack and carry on with the boil as normal. I have heard a lot about this whole, extracting tannins thing, but I have never experienced what that tastes like. ANyone ever do this? Anyone have any comments on this crazy idea?

1 Like

Tannins are only extracted if your pH is off. This is why decotions don’t produce tannins. However, I don’t think I would boil the entire amount of grain unless you’re sure you’ve reached conversion. Boiling the grains will denature the enzymes needed for conversion.

That’s why I am going to slowly sweep through the range. It will be in the conversion range for a significant period of time.

What is your end game with these experiments?

1 Like

I’ve read that one of the benefits of decoction is that it breaks up the starch in the grain and makes it more accessible to the enzymes in the unboiled portion of the mash. If you boil the whole mash you’ll denature all the enzymes and have accessible starch but no enzymes to break the starch into sugars.