Extract experimenting

So I am brand new to home brewing. I did my first Caribou 4 weeks ago and am going to bottle it tomorrow and then do 2 new batches as well. I was curious about drying out the beer by adding sugars and candi syrups to the boil, when it should be done and what different type of hops and times added will bring out the best in the beers I’m brewing. everything I’ve been reading has talked about styles and I haven’t found anything that is saying yes or no to anything and I’d rather not make a 5 gallon batch or garbage really.

dark/red ‘ipa’
steep 1lb carabrown for 30 min
6lbs amber dme
1lb extra dark candi syrup
2lbs dark brown sugar
3oz magnum @60
1oz cascade or Amarillo @15-20
1oz cascade or Amarillo @0-2
WLP001 with starter so I can split the one yeast batch over 2 beers

brown ale
steep 0.5lb black malt for 30
6lbs amber dme
2lbs light brown sugar
1oz magnum @60
1oz cascade or Amarillo @15-20
1oz cascade or Amarillo @0-2
WLP001

Sounds like a lot of sugar. Extract kits are known for a bit of a “watery” mouth feel and drying them out with sugar will really bring that out. I’m still pretty new to homebrewing so I can’t really give a whole lot of advice or reasons why to do or not do something.

As far as re-using yeast though, no real need to do a starter unless you are trying to have both batches going at the same time. I did a couple brews re-using yeast now, I brewed up a kit, chilled it, pitched the yeast in the primary, waited two weeks and racked it to the secondary. Scooped out part of the yeast cake in the primary, brewed, cooled and pitched the next batch right on the remains of the yeast cake. Stir it up good and within a day or so it was fermenting away just fine. :cheers: