Extract brewing with all water boil vs. top off in fermenter

Folks!

I have a question. My kettle is unfortunately 20gal. I need to brew an extract kit (Plinian Legacy Double IPA Kit) today and I would like to do this with around 8~9 gallons of wort instead of boiling 2.5 gal and topping off the rest in the fermenter.

Does anyone have a reason why I shouldn’t do that?

I do 5 gallon batches and start with 6 gallons of water. I generally end up right around 5 gallons when I’m done, in the winter I will have to top off with a 1/4 gallon or so. I figure I have the kettle space and burner to do it, why not. I haven’t brewed any other way I guess. My original train of thought when I started brewing was, with more water in the kettle less chance of scorching the extract when pouring it in.

A full water boil is actually the best thing for your extract kit! Partial boils are fine for darker beers where you don’t care about color or deep caramel malt flavors, however often times you’ll want to brew a lighter beer. The full boil helps you keep the extract beer as light in color as possible with as little odd caramel as possible. Full boil also helps with hop utilization, if you are adding any hops. In many ways you are very fortunate to have a nice big kettle!

See also the attached for more tricks that will make your extract beer as awesome as possible.

[quote=“mainestig”]Folks!

I have a question. My kettle is unfortunately 20gal. I need to brew an extract kit (Plinian Legacy Double IPA Kit) today and I would like to do this with around 8~9 gallons of wort instead of boiling 2.5 gal and topping off the rest in the fermenter.

Does anyone have a reason why I shouldn’t do that?[/quote]