Exploded Carboy Stopper

Hello, I’m a complete beer brewing noob. I’m sure this has been asked before, but i finished my brewing day yesterday and today I checked my carboy and the stopper exploded out and there is beer and yeast on my ceiling etc. Is the beer now contaminated? It has been a while since it exploded im guessing because the beer is all dried up on the side of the carboy. I put the stopper back in and it is bubbling. Is that a good sign? or am I screwed? Also, was it something I might have did that caused it to explode?

what size primary fermenter are you using?
I only ask because when I first started I did so on the cheap and bought a 5 gallon carboy because they were slightly cheaper and I thought I wouldn’t need anything bigger for the five gallon kits. Needless to say, my first few batches exploded everywhere before I upped to the bigger primary and used the 5 correctly as a secondary.

As far as contamination goes…I’m not sure but it seems possible. Only way to know for sure is to keep going and find out if it tastes terrible.

Either way, don’t be discouraged.

Also - in addition to size of carboy (headspace between beer and top of carboy) - what yeast? Some yeasts are much more “explosive” than others.

Higher temps. can also cause this.

2nd on don’t be discouraged - been there (more than once) and on some occasions there was no problem with the beer, other times there was. Won’t know for a while for sure.

Thanks for the advice. I am a little disappointed as I have this week off from work and spent all day yesterday brewing. Dont know when Ill have the time again if the batch doesnt taste good. I used the 5 gallon glass carboy that comes with the deluxe kit. it seems to be bubbling pretty good if that means anything. Also, i lost about 3/4 of a gallon in the explosion.