Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Ever find yourself

… talking to non-brewers as though they’re seasoned in the ways? I do this at work all the time. most people just nod politely & smile. I think it’s because I talk to you guys too much. :lol:

I work at a wine on premise / beer kit retailer. So I assume people know what I am talking about…but much of the time they probably think I’m in my own little beer infused world.

Actually people I talk to are in most cases biologists who at least have an understanding of what’s going on even if they’ve never done it. Haha sometimes it’s even easier to talk to them about some things than with actual homebrewers.

I’m the only homebrewer at my work and I find myself doing this as well. Many of them consume my beer, so at least they are always interested in hearing about what new things I have in the works. :roll:

this totally happens to me. The worst part is that I know just enough to be a bullshitter. I’m still a complete amateur, but because I can say things like brettanomycenes and talk about yeast variations and the different malts that are available… people come to me with questions and I find myself answering them and not really knowing what I’m talking about…

#shame

Funny thing is a year ago I never would have thought about signing up to a forum site for anything. I’m a huge basketball fan, and I’ve been brewing for years and never really had many people to talk to about them - my wife humored me for one NBA seaon (2008) but that was it.

The main difference between my NBA forum site and this one, is that on the other site you try to score points for your posts, which although it can make it fun in some respects, ends up making most guys act like unhelpfull jerks half the time.

At least here everyone is genuinely helpfull. And the overall douchebag ratio is very low (non-existant really)

I think the degree of patience required to make good beer is a pretty good douchebag repellent. :slight_smile: