Estery fruit flavors in my vanilla bourbon imperial porter

I’m still pretty new to home brewing, so I’m sure I made about a hundred mistakes with this beer. I brewed a 1.079 OG imperial porter, and used Safale 05 (only one pack, unfortunately). First of all, I think I under-pitched the yeast, and then I only kept it in primary for seven days. I tasted it during racking, and there were definitely some pretty distinct fruity flavors there that I did not expect or want. The gravity read 1.032, so I assumed I did not have enough yeast for that big of a beer, and the yeast got really stressed out, hence the fruit. I added 1.70 cups of bourbon, an ounce of oak chips, and three cut-up vanilla beans at secondary, as per the recipe that I found. Since the gravity was still so high, I repitched into secondary with a new pack of 05, hoping that would kick-start more fermentation and get the gravity down to 1.017 where it’s supposed to be. After four days, there is barely any activity in the airlock, so I don’t think it’s fermenting. Is there any hope for this beer turning out, or for those fruity flavors to disappear? I’m also concerned about leaving it in secondary with the oak chips and vanilla beans for too long. Could someone please point me in the right direction?

may not be the answer you want, but use liquid yeast and make a starter next time.

you under pitched a little. i dont think using liquid yeast and a starter would have changed it all that much, although proper pitching rate would have been better. dry yeast doesnt need a starter, the proper pitching rate for S05 for 1.079 would have been 15 grams, and you used 11.5. next time i would pitch 2 packets for a beer that big; one packet for a beer below 1.060. but this is rather common and A LOT of people underpitch