Ersatz Real Ale system. Is this plausible?

I’m pretty happy as a bottling brewer, but I have a very soft spot for beers served in the Real Ale style. I’m not keen on the price of a proper beer engine, let alone the installation of one, but I have noticed that quality hand pumps are available on the market.

I suppose the issue with using a quality hand pump on a naturally carbonated corny keg is keeping the beer pressurized and carbonated over the long haul?

Now that we’re in football season, is it plausible to think a naturally carbonated corny keg served via a hand pump will be good for two Sundays?

Thanks for your time and suggestions.

I’m relatively new to kegging, but I would think that as soon as you introduce oxygen via a hand pump into a carbonated keg, the beer is going to begin to go bad with very little chance of it making it week.

You could consider a CO2 cartridge kit to help dispense it, and then it would likely last as long as it remains cold enough.

Real Ale (by the CAMRA definition) is great, but only if the cask is used up in a day or three.
If that’s not going to happen in your situation, you definitely want some kind of gas blanketing the beer in your keg, whether co2 or nitro/beergas.

You can actually emulate the character of ‘real ale’ with a turbuent co2 dispense. You’re pouring a glass of foam at first, but when it settles down, you wind up with the lower carbonation that, to me, is what makes ‘real ale’ taste good. You can actually taste the beer and it’s particularly nice with a pale ale or a special bitter…the hop character comes through much better.

Have you considered the 5L mini kegs for this project? Depending on the number of guest you have, you may need to tap 3 kegs to get through the day. But you won’t have beer going bad.