Enhancing Flavors

I am new to this. I am embarrassed to say I am using the Mr Beer that my wife bought me. I hope to graduate up to something a little better soon. I am really enjoying learning about brewing. The first batch was not too bad. I am using the extracts and am curious as to if there is something I could add that would enhance the taste but not add a lot of bitterness. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks DRS

What do you have in mind? What kind of beer do you prefer?

It is not a bad thing to start with a Mr Beer kit. We walked on the moon by first learning how to walk upright.

Much of how a beer tastes has to do with controlling the fermentation temperature and using the right amount of good yeast. I would concentrate on temp control and the yeast before adding something to the kit ingredients to make it taste different. Brew the same beer again with emphasis on fermentation temperature and perhaps a new yeast to see if there is a taste difference

1 Like

I have never experimented too much with craft beers. I have always been a Bud Light guy. I am in the boiler business and one of my customers is Revolver Brewing. Seeing their massive setup and the smells of the brewery peaked my interest in trying to make my own beer.

I fermented the first batch for three weeks at 72-74 degrees. What would you recommend on the yeast and does the temp sound good? Thanks DRS

If you have a way to control temps something like a kolsch style beer, alt, or California common might be in your ball park. But they require temps to be around 60°.

72°-74° is too warm for most yeast. Actual fermentation temps will easily rise 5° over ambient even for moderate OG beers (1.050). Too warm fermentation will cause off flavor, eaters, and fusel alcohol. Most ale yeast like mid 60°s and lagers like low 50°s.

If you want to add hop aroma and flavor without making it too bitter try concentrating on adding additional hops late in the boil, with only 5 or less minutes remaining.