Efficiency

I use Promash to formulate my recipes, take care of my inventory, and track all my batches. Have for years and years. I’ve been brewing all-grain, nearly all lagers, for over 25 years. So you’d think I’d have it down, right? Here’s my problem:
A few years ago my efficiency started going through the roof. It now ranges between 90% and 100%. I know I’m good, but nobody’s that good. Here are a couple relevant points:

1. I measure very carefully. From a highly-accurate digital scale to a calibrated measuring stick for the kettle to a hydrometer AND refractometer–I’m a stickler for accuracy.
  2. I do quite long mashes, as long as five hours, so I’ve always gotten pretty high efficiency (not why I do it, but that’s a subject for another post), but this consistent figure of near 100% is new. The only thing different (that I can think of) from the days when I got in the 80s is I’ve converted my setup to electricity.
    The batch I brewed today came in at 99% and I had to fudge a little to keep it under 100%. Any ideas where to look for my mistake? Anybody else have this problem? Thoughts?
    Thanks, Jack.

High efficiency is a nice problem to have. I had the same problem a couple of years ago. Ideas:

1. If you are now pumping your wort out of the mash tun, is it possible you are sucking more wort out of the grain bed than you would if you were just gravity draining? Could be a pressure thing. Where you were once draining by converting potential energy to kinetic energy from one height to another both at the same atmospheric pressure, now you might have introduced additional force in the form of a vacuum to suck quite a bit more wort out of the same grain bed. This possibility applies a little bit more if you are a batch sparger than if you fly sparge, but in either case it only applies if you are using a pump. If not pumping, then ignore and move on…