Efficiency too high - what's wrong?

I am fairly new to AG, this was my 6th batch and was the Oatmeal Stout NB kit. The target mash temp was 153, but I hit 155. Batch sparge with first runoff 3.3g and 2nd runoff 2.9g. Mashout temp was 169 (10min). Runoff was about 10 minutes for both. Below are my calcs with the max ppg from Table 27 in Palmer’s book. Hydrometer accurate to within 1 point at different temps. Volume to kettle=6.2 gallons SG=1.050 (volume measurement accurate to within a pint or so).

Grain max ppg
6.5# English Marris Otter 37 x6.5/6.2 = 38.8
1# Flaked Oats 32 x1/6.2 = 5.2
0.5# Eng Roasted Barley 25 x0.5/6.2 = 2.0
0.5# Eng Choc Malt 28 x0.5/6.2 = 2.3
0.5# Eng Dark Crystal 33 x0.5/6.2 = 2.7
Maximun points = 51

Efficiency = 50/51 x 100 = 98%

1. Did I do the calculation correctly

2. I didn’t think to weigh the grain as it was ordered pre-crushed. Am I correct in thinking that they must have supplied more grain?

3. Or was my mash temp simply too high and expect this beer not to be good (time will tell).

My grain mill is on order and this was my last kit brew.
Thanks, Mike

I think your calculation is right, they must have added a couple extra pounds of base malt. Either that or your OG reading is somehow off. Changing mash temp a few degrees doesn’t really change efficiency much.

Looks like a very nice recipe, even with extra base malt it should be just fine.

Are you sure you actually had 6.2g in the kettle? Getting your volume bang on for a new AG brewer is hard to do given all the variables in play. It’s basically impossible for a homebrewer to get 100% efficiency.

The best way to measure efficiency in my opinion is to measure your volume and SG in the fermenter. Compare that to the recipe and adjust to calculate your efficiency. Efficiency needs exact volume as well as a temperature-corrected reading.

You should get a pre-boil gravity reading to get your mash efficiency. Evaporation during the boil is a difficult variable to control.