Dry tasting wine

This is my first attempt at making wine from the basic winemaking kit, I have some recipes for raisin wine and orange wine and I have made 5 gallons of each, but I sampled both with a wine thief and both are dry almost to the point of being sour. Any advice ?

I make my wine sweet by adding potassium sorbate and then adding regular table sugar. Word of advice, it will be sweeter than what you think when adding the sugar.

I would also pick up a simple TA kit and check the acidity.

Easiest way to back sweeten the wine would be to add some wine conditioner. Since it is specifically designed for this purpose, it has enough sorbate in it to prevent any fermentation. For 5 gal I would add about 1/5-1/4 of the 5oo ml bottle to take the edge off. Then if you want a little more detectable sweetness keep adding small amounts until it gets you where you want to be.

I’m a new guy also and I appreciate all the information from you who have “been there and done that”.

I have a red kit that seems very dry just finishing secondary fermentation and was thinking of adding conditioner to it. My question is after I degas and put the stabilizer and fining agents in do I let it sit for two weeks, then rack it, before I add the conditioner?

Plus, after you add the conditioner do you need to add additional Potassium Metabisulphite to it before bottling or if you let it sit for another month?

Thanks

You can pretty much add the conditioner right before you bottle.

You do not have to add any preservatives with it as it is chalk full of sorbate.

For red wines I would be a lot more hesitant to add any back sweetening. It is very rare to find off dry reds. If that is what you are really looking to do great. But if you are just finding the wine a little sharp, ageing it will definately soften it quite a bit. If you do add some conditioner I would add it in small amounts at first to be on the safe side.

Which kit are you making?