Dry hopping

My current favorite style of beer is IPA like a lot of people right now. I’m still a beginner Brewer and am on my fourth batch. I was wondering what people think about the importance of dry hopping. Seems a pain in the ass and increased risk of infection/contamination. I was wondering how much it really changes the taste profile. Has anyone done a boil, split it into 2, and dry hopped only half and tasted the difference?
T

Dry hopping will make a WORLD of difference in IPA’s and APA’s. I haven’t done side by side comparison, but I’ve brewed a specific recipe 4 times now. I’ve dry hopped 2 and skipped it in the other 2. The dry hopped version is by far the better version.

[quote=“Trapae”]My current favorite style of beer is IPA like a lot of people right now. I’m still a beginner Brewer and am on my fourth batch. I was wondering what people think about the importance of dry hopping. Seems a pain in the ass and increased risk of infection/contamination. I was wondering how much it really changes the taste profile. Has anyone done a boil, split it into 2, and dry hopped only half and tasted the difference?
T[/quote]

I’m a relative beginner, too, but I dry hopped the black IPA extract kit, per the instructions. Not a pain at all. I suppose there’s a small risk of infection, but I figured I was opening a sealed bag of hops (remember, one of the purposes of hops is to stave off bacterial infection in beer) and dumping it in the secondary, where there was enough alcohol content to ward off many bugs anyway. I’m curious why you think it is such a pain?

Pretty simple if you ask me…remove blow off tube…dump hops in…put tube back…