Double batch AG time saver

Ok, so I have ordered my Barley Crusher, totes to store grain, a pond pump to pump ice water during the wort cooling. I am getting ready to pull the trigger on some base grains and specialty grain based on what I plan to brew in the next few months.

With extract and PM, I started brewing two batches in a brew session for a couple reasons. To build up my pipeline and because doing a second batch only takes an hour more form me than doing a single batch. I have to really hustle to accomplish that but, to me, an extra hour one night clearly bets 3-4 on another night.

So, Here is my question:

Is it possible to brew double batches by mashing a larger quantity of base grains in a large cooler and then separately brewing the specialty grains for each of the two batches in different containers at the same time? I guess you would have to make sure the gravities of both batches were very close but here is what I am thinking: Just looking at the recipes for Lakefront IBA and Lakefront Fixed Gear as examples, both have OG’s of 1.065. Both use 11 to 11.25 lbs of 2 Row malt.

Mash about 10-11 gallons (I am rounding numbers here) of 2 Row and then do a brew in bag for each of the extra two lbs of specialty grains for each batch, adding the balance of the spare water. One could be done simultaneous with the base malt mashing and sparging and the other could follow during the first batch’s boil. Mix the base malt and specialty malts together and start the boil.

Now that I have typed that all out, I am thinking that it would be easier to have a second group of equipment, but that is space and money (and spousal aggravation).

Has anyone tried something like this?