Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Dawson's multi-grain -- missed O.G

Hey all,

I’m new to all grain. Today was a beautiful day in Conn so I took some time to brew my second match of AG. NB kit – thanks to Mister Dawson.

I have a 15g brew kettle, so I had a boil volume of about 7.25g. Boiled off at least 2 gallons. Ended up with an OG of 1.034 instead of 1.044. What have I done wrong?

Thanks

For starters, are you accurately measuring the volume and gravity? Have you calibrated your instruments?

Did you hit the expected OG on your previous batch?

The number one factor in efficiency is crush. Was the same mill used to crush both grists?

sounds like you might have too aggresive of a boil if you boiled off 2 gal.

I’m doing a 5gallon batch with a 15 gallon kettle. Nice big surface area so I was not surprised by the 2 g but you might be right. Not sure how that impacts my OG. I would have thought It would have the opposite affect (a higher than expect OG instead of lower than expected). How does an aggressive boil lead to lower OG?

I performed both a refractometer and hydrometer reading and came up with the same OG.

Appreciate the help.

The kits are formulated for a 5 gallon postboil.

IE: If you normally collected 6 gallons @ 1.034 (ish) and boiled for an hour, lost a gallon to boil and chilling you would end up with 5 gallons of wort with an OSG of 1.044 if you got around 70% efficiency. Now this would also theorize that you had no trub whatsoever which is not possible so you would then drain 4 (ish) gallons to the fermentor as you will lose around .5-1.5 gallon depending on your exact setup.

With your parameters* you should have seen this:
*( assuming 70% effic, 2 gallon boiloff, 7.25g preboil collection.)
A. Preboil OSG @ 7.25G : 1.030
B. Boiloff of 30% per hour = 2 gallons boiled off in 1 hour
C: If you truly had 5G left in the kettle it should read around 1.040