Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Dark American Wheat Beer

I love Cornstalker by Thunderhead Brewing Co. I was wondering if I could recreate it by adding some grain to a American Wheat Beer extract kit. I generally don’t stray from the directions, so I’m new to experimenting. Any suggestions would be appreciated!!

I don’t know anything about that beer, but I would assume it’s basically a dunkelweizen but fermented with an American wheat yeast. If that’s the case, I would do exactly that. Find a dunkelweizen kit and swap the German wheat yeast for an American wheat yeast.

This beer is a lot darker than a dunkel…it looks almost like a stout, but tastes lighter. I looked around on the internet and am thinking I need a chocolate malt for flavoring…not positive on the amount. Not sure if I need any other extract or not.

Here’s what I could find. Been so long since I’ve done extract, I won’t attempt to give advice on a recipe. I’m sure I could give it a shot with all grain.

[i]Cornstalker is a black version of an American-style wheat beer, as opposed to a dunkel weizen. It is brewed with malted organic corn, as well as wheat and barley, with the idea of involving the local farming community, and giving Nebraskans a chance to try a dark beer.

ABV: 5.2
ABW: n/a
Color: n/a
Bitterness: 17
Original gravity: 1052

The label features a desperado about to rob a beer bank. The name Thunderhead Cornstalker is big and imposing, yet the brew is delicate—more lightweight than heavy hitter. Dark as the night before a tornado, the tan head quickly fades yielding a nose with hints of coffee. Pleasant on the palate with little detectable barley or wheat character. We quaffed it with salted and buttered popcorn while watching a movie, about the Wild West, what else!
- Charles Finkel