Cyser, dry pitched yeast

Hey guys,

So im a bit of a newb at all of this, but I decided to try my hand at a cyser last night. I made the unfortunate mistake of dry pitching the yeast, saw a small amount of airlock activity this morning. Below is what I used

1 Gallon Apple Juice (No preservatives)

2.5# of honey

Safale US-05 Yeast (Full Pack) - I used an ale yeast because I did not want a very dry cyser, please let me know if this was also wrong.

1/2 tsp yeast nutrient.

I put a small amount of apple juice and the honey in a pot, and heated it on the lowest setting possible, just enough to dissolve all the honey in. I then added the honey with the rest of the juice in my carboy, and shaked vigorously (good amount of foam after this). Dry pitched the yeast and put on the airlock.

I have a few questions, most around my choice of yeast, and regarding aeration and adding more yeast nutrient. Should I be airaiting during primary, and adding yeast nutrient per other mead instructions? Or is this different because its a cyser? How often should I be doing this?

Did adding the yeast dry mess up my primary fermentation? Will I need to re-pitch more yeast? How should I hydrate the yeast prior to adding? I see many instructions say to use tap water, but thats not sanitary right?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

I hope your water is sanitary if you drink it. How did you aerate?

No one might agree with me, but based on my own experience…

Pitching the yeast dry is just fine. You used a whole pack for the ~1.25 gallons? That is PLENTY. Even if half the yeast is dead, you still have a plenty big pitch for that small volume.

The nutrient addition(s) are good but probably not necessary in my experience, especially if you want a sweeter end product. Nutrients would help the yeast perform a more complete fermentation. So you can safely skip adding any more in my opinion.