Critiques, thoughts, suggestions

I have 4 Santa Cruz 3/4 gallon bottles currently in primary fermentation, and I’ve approached each jug a little differently. I’d appreciate any critiques, thoughts, or suggestions; this is my first try at hard cider.

Jug 1: pitched dry Red Star champagne yeast on Friday the 24th. I plan to leave this one alone. Any suggestions on how long?

Jug 2: pitched rehydrated Red Star champagne yeast on Friday the 24th. On Wednesday the 29th I added a 1/2 cup of simple syrup infused with a 1/2 oz of cascade hops. I plan to leave in primary for at least another week.

Jug 3: pitched dry ale yeast s-04 on the 24th. Like jug 1, I plan to leave this one alone. Any suggestions on how long?

Jug 4: pitched rehydrated s-04 on the 24th. On Wednesday the 29th I added a 1/2 cup of simple syrup infused with a 1/2 oz of cascade hops. I also added a half oz of dry hops to this one. I plan to leave in primary for at least another week.

As this is my first go at hard cider, I have no idea what’s in store. Thanks in advance for any advice or thoughts.

Rack them all after 10 days in primary. Then about every 7 to 10 days after that, until fermentation quits. Generally takes about 4 weeks, plus or minus a week or so. Taste them all after a couple weeks. If they taste too dry, you can rack, add gelatin to get rid of more yeast, chill (in the refrigerator), and add sulfite and sorbate to arrest the fermentation. Then you can bottle after you’re sure it’s stable, after another week or so if it doesn’t resume fermentation.

Good luck. I’ve got 5 batches in primary right now myself. And actually, thanks for the reminder! I’ve got to go taste them all right now.

:cheers:

What to do depends on what you are trying to achieve. The biggest initial decision is if you want the yeast to make these very dry, or to shut down leaving some residual sugar?