Cranberry cream ale help

I’m planning on brewing cranberry ale using the speckled heifer all grain kit as a base and adding some cranberry blossom honey to the boil plus adding some fresh cranberries to the secondary for a week after two weeks of primary fermination. I did something similar this summer by using the speckled heifer and adding orange blossom honey. That beer turned out great. It was an excellent light beer for a hot day with a nice hint of orange from the honey.

This time I want add the fruit to accentuate it’s flavor in the beer and give it a nice pinkish red color. Does anyone have suggestion about the best way to incorporate the fruit into the beer? Is adding fresh fruit to the beer in secondary a good idea? How much should I add for a 5 gallon batch? Should I do anything to fruit before putting in the carboy?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I am still a novice homebrewer (this will be my 5th all grain batch.)

For an easy fruit addition, you can add juice once primary fermentation is complete - I’ve had good results with 100% organic pomegranate, cherry, and cranberry, usually cost $5-$7 a quart, which is enough to reliably add a nice fruit character and color to five gallons of beer.

Oregon brand fruit puree is good, since it’s already sanitized. I’ve never used juice, but you now have it on good authority that juice works well. If you want to use fresh fruit, I’d suggest tossing the cranberries in boiling water for 30 seconds to kill any wild yeasts on the skins (the inside of the berries should be sanitary). I would avoid fruit extracts, as they rarely give you a quality end product.

I’ve decided to go with fresh cranberries. I was thinking about washing them and freezing them until use to help break them down. Any thoughts?

A lot of people do that, and it seems to help the berries break down in the beer better. Go ahead.

Thanks for the advice. I’m brewing tomorrow. I’ll let you know how it goes.