Corn Sugar's in the Corny

Corn Sugar’s in the Corny

Here is goes, a first crack at carb/conditioning in the keg. I added my sugar, racked, stirred, sealed and purged (w/ CO2). Now it will patiently wait for a seat in the keezer. Since I’ve never done this before, am I correct in thinking that in about the same time it takes for bottles to condition, the keg should be ready and simply need to be chilled, connected to CO2 and enjoyed? Am I missing any steps with purging, NOT hooking to CO2 right away etc?

Thanks, Mike

Are you planning to serve the beers cask style?

If not, not sure why you would want to natural carb in a keg. You are going to have a lot of sediment to deal with.

My goal was to have it ready as soon as room is available rather than carbing over another 10-days. Why sediment? I’ve taken into consideration a first or first and one half cloudy pint as usueal.

I have done this and only had the usual sediment for the first pint.

Why more sediment?

Because you just started fermentation back up.

Muddy, after reading your first post, I searched and located several posts for sugar in the keg and found that yes there will be added sediment from fermentation but that it will not impede the batch from clearing just like any other beer racked to keg from primary or a secondary vessel so I think I’ll be fine. I actually clarified in secondary before racking so I’m even more ahead of the game. One thing I did read is purging the keg thoroughly before hooking CO2, I assume since it’s fully carbed. What I don’t want is endless foam. So in a week or so I’ll purge the keg every few days to let it carb reasonably. 1 to 1.5 pints as mentioned will likely be cloudy, no biggy. Again, when this keg is needed it will be ready once it’s chilled and that’s my sole objective.
:cheers:

I have done this and only had the usual sediment for the first pint.[/quote]

Good to hear, cheers!